Part CLXVI – Calmly ending weekend

I’m typing this on Monday afternoon. I imagine it will go live on Friday if I have my scheduling right. I’ve spent the morning looking for jobs and applying for some of them. I’ll probably talk about this in a bit more detail over on the other blog (where the subject is more apposite. In shortest terms, while I’m keen to pick up work for the two days a week spare I have, I’m not looking to take on another “so desperate I’ll take anything” job until I have to. I did that with the signmakers and (while I learned a lot from the experience) it wasn’t exactly a barrel of laughs.

Anyway, I spent the weekend up at the farm. The weather was clear and sunny and (if not exactly warm) at least not bitterly cold during the day. Plenty of walking miles were racked up with the dog and while patching up a length of fence. At this moment I’m wondering if I can fit in a run before Screen Sounds (unlikely). Regardless, the miles are still going up even if I do seem to be putting on weight.

The tribe are doing well and the cattle are healthy. Hopefully that lasts, given that there’s been an outbreak of foot-and-mouth-disease in Bali which could easily make the hop to Australia.

The photos below are from Sunday evening, when the air was dead calm and the dam as calm as a pane of glass. It had been a good day. The Ex and I had had a good solid chat about our girls and I’d been able to do some of the heavier farm work for the old boy. The dog and I were getting in one last walk before I needed to start packing. The world seemed calm for a change.

Not much more to report about the weekend. Or maybe there is. I tend not to get too deeply personal here but I must confess I’m tempted. I’ll think it over and may post further as we go.

Leave a comment